Well, if I must: Amsterdam-Atlanta-Aruba 2010

The actual view from our beach chairs in Aruba.

We’ve been back from our big vacation for over a week, and yesterday was the first day I managed to spend mostly awake. I either have the worst jet lag ever, or else some kind of Aruban sleeping sickness, because every afternoon this past week seems to find me passed out on the sofa with a book upended on my belly.

Another possibility is that I’ve just gotten used to the whole napping all afternoon with a book thing. If I slathered myself in sunscreen, turned on the heat, and sat in a plastic chair, I’d be pretty much reproducing my vacation. Maybe I should stand in the garden with an inner tube tonight and let Nate spray me with the hose, completing the illusion.

We started out our (longest continuous) vacation (as a couple EVER) by spending a night in Amsterdam, anticipating that traveling 2.5 hours to Schipol from Groningen to make an 11am flight would lead to a long, cranky travel day. We spent an afternoon in Amsterdam, stayed in a super-mod micro-hotel kind of place, and walked to the airport in the morning. I’d been to Amsterdam before, but Nate never, and I had forgotten just how gross is it until you get way out into the city away from the train station. You really have to walk a couple of miles out of the center to see anything worth seeing in Amsterdam.

Where's Nate?

After a scary morning at Schipol, involving an oversold flight and 2.5 hours waiting in a series of lines, we flew to Atlanta (sitting together! Oh, we were grateful). We spent the next three days in Atlanta. We shopped, spending entirely too many dollars. We went to the Georgia Aquarium, which is every bit as awesome as you’ve heard so stop putting it off and go there already, and the World of Coke. We ate really well at all of Buckhead’s finest establishments. We enjoyed spending time with Nate’s mom. And we did not die of heatstroke.

Before we knew it we were off to Aruba. Besides a pretty bad airport situation–still not as bad as Pisa–and some minor rental car unpleasantness, it didn’t take me long to figure out that I was in one of the prettiest places I’ve ever been.

I’m sure I don’t need to describe the poolside lounges, the swim-up bar, the continuous supply of pina colada-mix smoothies, the white sandy beach, the cool clear water, or perfect 87-degree days. I will say that the coolest thing we did was rent a Jeep and ride around the island, visiting some of the more out-of-the-way sights. We saw the national park, the collapsed Natural Bridge, Baby Beach, cacti, and plenty of “free-range” goats and chickens.

We had a wonderful, relaxing trip, and it was hard to come back to Holland. It wasn’t Aruba that was so hard to leave, it was our family, and we’re starting to look forward to moving back in a few months.

(Photos at the Picasa)

One response to “Well, if I must: Amsterdam-Atlanta-Aruba 2010

  1. Yay for happy, relaxing vacations!!

Leave a Reply

